HR News Item

New Jersey Minimum Wage Updates

On February 4, 2019, Governor Murphy signed legislation that progressively raises the minimum wage in New Jersey to $15 per hour by the year 2024 as follows:

 Date New Minimum Wage 
January 1, 2019 $8.85/hour
July 1, 2019 $10/hour 
January 1, 2020 $11/hour
January 1, 2021  $12/hour
January 1, 2022 $13/hour
January 1, 2023 $14/hour
January 1, 2024 $15/hour


In order to comply with state law, units employing hourly staff including student workers should familiarize themselves with the schedule above and make changes as necessary to staff hourly rates of pay.

For further information or if you have any questions, please contact the Office of Labor Relations at (848) 932-3400.